Celebration of Lay Ministry

On Saturday 23 September Peterborough Diocese held its first Celebration of Lay Ministry. From 9am until 4pm about 120 lay ministers gathered at the Bishop’s Palace, then the Cathedral, for fellowship, teaching, workshops and lunch. In the afternoon the numbers grew to over 350 for the licensing and admission of new lay ministers and readers.

Bishop Donald’s morning address (40 minutes), and afternoon sermon (15 minutes) are here.

Licensed and admitted as Readers:

Nicholas Bewley-Tippler – Northampton Emmanuel

Prester Coleman – Northampton St Giles

Stephen Moore – Weedon Bec w Everdon & Dodford

Anne Parker-Tyler – Daventry Team Ministry

Clare Ray – Silverstone & Abthorpe w Slapton & Whittlebury w Paulerspury

Elizabeth Roache – Northampton St Alban the Martyr

Robert Robinson – Peterborough St Mary

Maureen Woodd – Nassington, Apethorpe, Thornhaugh & Wansford, Woodnewton & Yarwell

Re-licensed and admitted as Reader

Jill Charman – Brixworth w Holcot

Licensed as Lay Ministers:

Joanne Batch – Kettering Christ the King

Jean Bowerman – Rushden St Peter

Susan Brittain – Corby St John the Baptist w the Epiphany

Jacqueline Brooks-Cheesman – Wellingborough Gleneagles

Andrew Christie – Peterborough St Mary

Andrea Durling – Irthlingborough w Great Addington w Little Addington & Woodford

Jayne Ellis – Peterborough St Mary

Susan Fletcher – Barnack w Ufford, Bainton, Helpston & Wittering

Elizabeth Greenwood – Peterborough St Mary

Brian Hemmings – Crick & Yelvertoft w Clay Coton & Lilbourne

Catherine Hill – Corby St John the Baptist w the Epiphany

Trevor Lake – Clipston w Naseby & Haselbech & Kelmarsh

Alan McMurdo – Oundle w Ashton & Benefield w Glapthorne

Susan Osborne –Oakham Team Ministry

Peter Taylor – Oundle w Ashton & Benefield w Glapthorne

Marina Wichard –Daventry Team Ministry



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.